Home  |  Specials  |  Contact Us
Toll Free 
 1-866-509-0571
or 817-405-2778
 
 
86  Jean

 

Location: Las Vegas, NV
Date: 29.07.2007
Time: 14:48:57
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I must admit that I had a lot of preconceived notions about Mexico but when we arrive they were all out the window. We met Nathalie at the airport and let me tell you she was the best. She took us to the hotel and back to the airport and whenever I needed anything she was there. I had the gastric bypass surgery and it was the best decision of my life. I have already lost 60lbs and feel great. If you are feeling any reservations about having the surgery in Mexico don't it was wonderful. The hospital was the cleanest that I have ever been in. The staff was so sweet and nice and made sure that you were comfortable. The care that I received out of the hospital was the best I have ever had. Dr. Joya's assistant, Dr. Espinosa, took excellent care of me when I was discharged from the hospital. The hotel was beautiful right on the beach and Dr. Espinosa called on me twice a day to make sure that everything was okay. When I had trouble with my drain and it was the middle of the night he came instantly and made sure that I was okay. I just can't say enough about Dr. Joya and his team. I just would like to tell them thank you again and again. Don't let the idea of having the surgery in Mexico stop you from having this surgery, they literally saved my life. Beside where else can you recover while sitting on the beach.
85  Steve



Location: Atlanta GA
Date: 29.07.2007
Time: 14:44:34
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I just got back home this past Monday having the Lapband procedure with Dr. Joya's group. The whole experience was top notch, even down to the resort that Dr. Joya puts you up in for recovery after discharge. The price he is charging includes everything including airfare and the nights stay which was valued at $130.00 a night, yes I stayed right on the ocean in a 5 star resort. I only wished I had taken some advice from other patients who said to plan on arriving a couple days ahead for a negotiated rate of $79.00 per night that way I would have enjoyed the whole trip even more. The hospital and staff were also top notch with around the clock care, I can not express anymore as to how impressed I was with the whole experience.
84  Susan




Date: 29.07.2007
Time: 14:38:51
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
JUST GOT BACK LAST NIGHT! ALL I CAN SAY IS "WOW". I AM SOOOO IMPRESSED WITH THE ENTIRE STAFF. IT WAS SUCH AN EASY PROCESS, THE CARE WAS PHENOMENAL!
83  Jenny



Location: Hinton Iowa
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 23:08:48
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Well, I had my surgery Aug 9, 2005. Gerald and Dr. Joya's staff took care of everything for me and they are awesome and #1 in my book!!! I can not say enought about him, all the other docs and their staff. The hospital was beautiful and very clean. Nathalie picked me up from the airport and off to the hospital we went. She is so caring and friendly. They got me in the bed and started my IV and did my test. The nurses are great!!! They are so friendly and speak pretty good english, but if they don't, you can get the point across. Everyone at the hospital, from the receptionist to the docs, everyone is friendly and they always have a smile!! Well, I had my surgery that night and everything came out great. Was up and walking the next day at 6 a.m. and the nurses had me in the shower by 7 a.m. That was great!! Dr. Joya and his staff treat you like their own family and they take great care of you. It was so refreshing to have a doctor that looks at you with a smile and actually cares!!! I was at the San Javier hospital and then I stayed at the NH Crystal resort. Which was very nice and clean and right next to the ocean!!! Well I have to tell you this, that one night while I was there, I had a little problem with dumping, so called Nathalie at 10:00 pm and she called Dr. Joya and he said he would meet me at the hospital, because they were just finishing up with another patients surgery, so went to the hospital, mind you this is at 10:00 pm!! All the docs checked me out and decided that I was having a dumping reaction to the juice. Well after I got checked out, Dr. Joya asked if I would like a ride to the hotel. Now you tell me, what doc in the states would ever offer a ride anywhere. NONE. So he took me back to the hotel. This just tells you what kind of doctor he is. A CARING ONE!!! I just can not say enough about them and would go back to them for anything in a heart beat!! I would just like to say THANK YOU for the great experience and for giving me my life back. You are all great and wonderful. A special thanks to the nurses who took care of me and the docs who came to my hotel and checked in on me. Also, thanks to Nathalie for everything!!! If you are thinking about this surgery with any doc in Mexico, make sure its Dr. Joya and his staff. They are #1!!!!!
82  Linda



Location: Dallas Texas
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 23:06:15
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Hello all, What a quick trip, I left Dallas at 9:30 am on Tuesday, had surgery about: 4:00 pm, flew back yesterday (Thursday afternoon), the only negative thing that happened was when I landed in Dallas we had to sit on the run way for an hour due to thunderstorms!! I did request a wheel chair which was very wise, one because it is quite a distance to get to customs then the wait would have been too much, so thanks to all who shared that info with me. Everything you read about Dr. Joya, Nataile,his team and the hospital is true, I had a very positive experience. If you are questioning having surgery in Mexico with Dr Joya, not to worry, you will be in good hands. It is a wonderful feeling not to have that constant hunger pain in my stomach, I haven't' vomited or had any nausea. Of course the pain is beginning to fade, now is just feels like I sit ups without being in shape. I'm looking forward to wearing all those clothes hanging in my closet!!!
81  Kina

 

Location: Smith Center Kansas
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 23:03:36
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I had my gastric bypass surgery with Dr. Joya on Aug, 16, 2005. They took care of everything as far as airlines, hotel, etc. Nathalie picked me up at the airport and took me to the hospital, I had pre-op tests, then it was off to surgery that evening. I was up the next day walking around. Dr. Joya and his assistant doctors are very caring. They treat you like you're family, not just another patient. The nurses are all very sweet. Their English is a little rough, but you can get your point across--no problem. Nathalie helps with anything you need, like prescriptions, hotel and flight arrangements, etc. I was at the San Javier Hospital and it was actually quiet enough to get some rest in. Very clean and very nice, too. I have to take this opportunity to give a special thanks to Dr. Carlos Olivares. He is the one I saw the most in the hospital and at the hotel afterwards. He found out (the hard way) that I have an extreme fear of needles and went out of his way to try not to use them on me (long story). And when he took out the drain tube and stitches, he was very careful to make it as painless as possible. He did a VERY excellent job. He's near Sainthood in my book! The NH Krystal Hotel is very nice. The view is great, the staff is very helpful. Room service was excellent. A little Lorrie-bird told me the Christine night club was pretty nice and fun, too! Overall, my experience with Dr. Joya, his staff, hospital and Puerto Vallarta, was very, very good. I couldn't have gotten that good of care in the US. Now, if we could only convince the whole crew to come to the U.S. we'd be set!!
80  Audrey



Location: Victorville California
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 23:00:18
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I have to say I haven't ever received more personal, attentive care than I did with Dr. Joya and his staff. I had the Bypass surgery and had a complication and they where right on top of it. The doctor was at the hospital 2-3 times a day every day. The nurse was there every evening to change my IVs and make sure I wasn't in pain. I'm so grateful for the care they took of me there! I'd do it again in a heartbeat even with the complications because I know they'd take care of me.
79  Darice



Location: Washington Arkansas
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:54:24
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I was very impressed with Dr. Joya and his staff. The entire staff was very efficient, friendly, fluent in English, and compassionate. I cannot think of one thing wrong with the care that I received while in Dr. Joya's care. The entire experience was great. I would highly recommend Dr. Joya and his staff for the lap band surgery. I give him, his staff, and the hospital an A+++++++++++ - the best! O.K. I just read below that everything cannot be the best. So I'll tell you the only bad thing about the whole experience was that my husband is 6'2" and he had to sleep on a sofa, the one night in the hospital, that was only about 5 feet long and he said it was hard as a rock. So, yes, I guess everything wasn't perfect, but, darn close to it.
78  Staci



Location: Elko MN
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:50:28
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
My first impression of Dr. Joya was from his website, and that it seemed very professional. My intuition, or gut instinct told me that he was a good choice. My first impression when I met him was immediate comfort. He has a great smile, nice handshake, and is extremely easy to talk to. His staff is very friendly and accommodating. They are very gentle and willing to go out of their way to do anything for you. Anything from getting your favorite juice to a run in to WalMart. They are really great people! The thing I liked least about Dr. Joya would have to be that he went on vacation to Canada while I was there! ;-) Honestly, I ended up staying longer than planned, so it wasn't on purpose! He came directly from the airport when he got back to see me, he didn't even stop at home to drop off his things. That really tells you what kind of a great doctor he is. I have really been thinking and thinking about what I liked least.. maybe the language barrier. Dr. Joya and his staff all speak english very fluently, but some of the nurses at the hospital don't speak as well, and of course you will run into that elsewhere. The best investment before going is an english/spanish dictionary! You will use it constantly! I got one and it was a great help. What his future patients really should know is that Dr. Joya is the best doctor that I have ever met! He came to see me at the hotel many times, and if he did not, his assistant came. Dr. Joya is the most caring, compassionate, thoughtful doctor that I have ever met. He makes you feel like you are his only patient, and you can tell he REALLY cares. He treats you so incredibly well that it is unbelievable. I would recommend him to everyone, you simply can't find a better doctor anywhere! He is nothing like a lot of the doctors here in the U.S., who seem cold and business-like, with no bedside manner at all. He is more like a family member who really cares about you. Surgically, he does a great job, and really knows what he is doing. He is very experienced. To me, he is the ideal of what a doctor should be like. I can't even say enough good things about him. He really is the best. Anyone can feel completely comfortable and reassured knowing that they are in his hands. As far as aftercare, he really recommends finding a support group in your area, and following up with your usual doctor. He emails you a book about the do's and dont's for after surgery. If you have any questions, you can always email him and his staff will get any questions answered very quickly. Of course he lets you know about the risks, which all surgeons do, overall, I would give him a 12 out of 10. He is outstanding!
77  Gary



Location: New York
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:47:41
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
had lapband surgery and have since lost 60 lbs. It was the best thing I ever did. Dr. Joya and his staff were as professional a group as I have ever seen. My impression of them was, and has remained, very positive. I had had surgery on my knee in New York City in February of 2004. San Javier hospital was cleaner, newer, and provided faster attention to my every need than the hospital in New York. I had very small and neat incisions from my surgery, which I saw as a sign of surgical competence. They started healing the next day. I was up and around the next day as well. There were no complications of any kind. The people who provide my aftercare up here in New York are impressed by my progress. They also couldn't believe the price I paid!
76  Elna



Location: Mountain High California
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:42:09
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I found Dr. Joya by extensive researching on the web. I had been working with a bariatric surgeon in the S.F. Bay Area, and had intended to proceed with him for a lap band procedure. However when my insurer denied my request (twice!), I had to look at paying about $26,000 out of pocket for the surgery, vs. about $8,000 for the same procedure in Puerto Vallarta by Dr. Joya. My experience with Dr. Joya and the hospital and staff was terrific. The surgery went smoothly, the hospital was as good as - if not better than - hospitals around here, I spent one night in the hospital and the next day (and night) in a nearby luxury resort, and flew home the day after that. No complications. I've since had one fill, and have lost about 65 lbs. in about a year. Could have lost more had I been able to exercise more, but I also wound up with progressive arthritis and had to have a knee replaced, and was a couch potato for about 5 months. Have since recovered and am exercising and losing more weight. I love the fact that I can eat anything, just not much of it. Oh, and I had the surgery done when I was 64.
75  Kathie



Location: Texas
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:40:21
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
My first impression of Dr. Joya was very good. It has only improved over the last year. His staff is excellent in answering questions, taking care of patient needs, etc. Future patients should know that they will feel like his only patient while they are there. He squeezes your shoulder when he greets you and actually cares how you are doing. He has a booklet for aftercare and answers all questions you may have. The risks are covered on his website, and all concerns are addressed by email or in person. I could not recommend him any higher. I have never received better care from a doctor or hospital. His office and staff there are just as wonderful. His surgical competence (surgery done in 40 min) is just as fantastic as his bedside manner.
74  Kathy



Location: Ohio
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:37:06
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I had Lap band surgery on March 3, 2005. Dr. Joya and his staff are great! For those worried about surgery in Mexico - do not fear with Dr. Joya. The hospital and Dr. Office's are top notch. Private rooms, luxurious hotel to recuperate. Lovely town!. The staff made all the flight arrangements, etc., picked up up at the airport, and shuttled us around as needed.
73  Bruce



Location: Auburn GA
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:32:25
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I had RNY in Puerto Vallarta with Dr. Joya and I cannot say enough good things about my experience. I have lost 50 pounds in the first month and continue to my weight lost at a pound every day or two.... The quality of care I experienced in Puerto Vallarta was better then I could have expected in USA. Dr. Joya and his staff are excellent. I had doctors checking in on me 2 or 3 times a day and nurses every shift change. Language was not a barrier. I did have pain from a drain they inserted, but after the drain was removed the pain abated. I can say that the hotel that I was in was kind of a bummer. It was a very nice resort, but being confined to stay out of the water and not "over do it" I watched a lot of TV. The hospital had better channel choices then the hotel did... but this is a minor complaint. I am very pleased....
72  Trina



Location: San Diego CA
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:30:43
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Dr Joya is a good doctor and he has excellent staff. His first assistant came to my room at the hotel every day after surgery and she was wonderful. So far everything has gone well. They were very reassuring since it is very stressful having to go to Mexico to have this surgery.
71  Marie




Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:24:57
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I had my surgery with Dr. Joya and I couldn't be more pleased. As a matter of fact I am doing very well. My incisions have healed extremely well. Compared to most pics I have seen of the incisions, mine look better. The hospital stay was fantastic! I felt like I was their only patient. It was very quiet and if I pressed the button for a nurse, they were there immediately. I have lost over 50 pounds and counting.
70  Lisa



Location: NY
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:21:51
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I am 1 month post op.. down about 18 pounds ready for a fill... If you're thinking about doing this just keep in mind that DR Joya and his staff are terrific. My mom and I were super impressed.
69  Angel




Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:16:18
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I did it!!! i just had the band done on the 27th dr. joya and staff were great. i have had no problems so far. i can walk with no problem as long as it is not to fast...lol i walked all over the hotel and pv to the mall and to different shops. i was so worried i was going to feel horrible after but i just listened to everyone and drank very slow and i never vomited. i am just so amazed at how great i feel and how easy it was.
68  Leesa




Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:07:18
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Hi everyone! I just had my surgery last Tuesday (Sept. 6th) and I feel GREAT! The procedure was so smooth I still can't believe it's done. If you're like me you are probably wondering ... what have I gotten myself into ... surgery in another country?? If so, you have nothing to worry about. From the time you step off the plane, Natalie is right there to take you to the hospital. She is well informed and can answer just about all your questions and if she doesn't know the answer she does everything she can to get you the correct answer. The hospital is clean, and the staff was so helpful. Not to mention the bedside manner of Dr. Joya and his entire surgical team was A+++++. Before your procedure he comes in your room to answer any questions. They run lots of test to ensure you're fit for the Surgery. The morning after my surgery I felt great! The nurses came in to assist me with a shower (they also checked on me frequently throughout the night) and by 9:30am FOUR doctors (including Dr. Joya) had been by my room to check on me and ask me if I had any questions. My mother was with me and she is a skeptical person and to see her so happy about the Dr. and hospital meant a lot! Today is day 7 and I'm starting on my full liquids (YEAH!) I have no complaints! I STRONGLY recommend reading the patient Manuel over and over again. There is so much great information you need to know and I can tell the staff but a lot of work into gathering the information. Thanks to the advice of the manual and Gerald, I have not vomited. The only discomfort I feel is a burp that's stuck in your throat but it will pass quickly. Other than that I've been drinking A LOT of WATER and I feel so energetic! If you're on the fence about this procedure I strongly recommend Dr. Joya! Remember you have nothing to lose but WEIGHT!
67  Donna H.



Location: Louisville, KY
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:03:12
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
My sister and I flew down to Puerto Vallarta on August 15th so I could have laproscopic gastric bypass. We were met by Nathalie in PV and I went to the hospital to begin all the fun pre-op stuff. By 6:00 I had had some anti-anxiety meds and was ready for surgery. The surgery itself went very well; there was some pain afterward but my less delicate surgery-mates didn't experience any so I think it's on an individual basis. I was up and walking at 3 a.m. because I was restless. The nurses were so fantastic and the hospital is very nice. The girls I was down there with were lots of fun and we had a good time laughing and teasing Dr. Joya, Dr. Olivaries, and Dr. Espinoza. After I was released I went to the resort, which was fantastic. Really there just aren't words for how amazing it is and what a great opportunity it is to relax. The aftercare continued there with daily visits from the doctors. I had stomach pain one night, called Nathalie, and Drs. Olivaries and Espinoza were there IN TEN MINUTES. Turns out I gave myself colitis from stressing out but they helped me through it and I was as good as new the next day. Dr. Olivaries even helped out my sister who had hit the tequilia too hard one night. She was down for a day and he checked on her as closely as he checked on me. Plus, Dr. Olivaries took out my drain and my staples and I didn't feel a thing. He even helped the Fear of Needles Queen, Kina, through it! ;) He's very kind and has a good sense of humor. I hope anyone having this surgery will use Dr. Joya. He and his staff make you feel so confident and so cared about as a person. The surgery is serious and the work you do after is serious, but the care you get in PV and the foundation they give you to work from is fantastic. Thanks to all the staff for an excellent experience!
66  Kathy Evans

 

Location: Weatherford Texas
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 22:01:12
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I just want to say this was the best thing that ever happened to me. The hospital was wonderful and clean, and the nurses right there when you needed them. Dr Joya is very reassuring if you feel the least bit uncomfortable being out of the country. Natalie picked us up at the airport and everything from there went very smoothly. My daughter went with me and was impressed with the care. Everything went smoothly and Natalie picked us up from hospital and took us to store to buy all the water drink and jello. Then to the hotel which is just beautiful, I stayed an extra day and was picked up to fly home. I had my surgery on Aug 20 ,2004 and have already lost to my goal of 150, but I am thinking just a little more.This is the best thing you can do for yourself. Oh yes I had gastric band\ Thanks
65  Toni



Location: LA
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 21:58:51
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
My brother and I just returned from PV. on the 28th of July. If you are considering Dr. Joya for your surgery, I highly recommend him. His team and the hospital staff made the whole experience bearable. I have never flown before, never been out of the country, and never had surgery before in my life, so I was very nervous. Dr. Joya is the only way to go.
64  esther rodriguez



Location: Chicago
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 21:46:47
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I want to say thanks to Dr. Joya, for telling me about this surgery and the benefits of it 3 years ago, when I was hospitalized at San Javier Hospital in Puerto Vallarta for high blood pressure while on vacation. Last July 22, I had the lap band surgery in Chicago as of today July 12, 2005 I lost 101 and I'm a new person, all thanks to Dr. Joya and his encouragement. I will advised anyone that is overweight to have this procedure done, once again thanks Dr. Joya
63  Sandra Kessler

 

Location: Holcomb KS
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 16:25:43
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Hi,everyone!!! If you are thinking of having this surgery, I say go for it. It will change your life totally. I had my surgery on 11/26/2004 and have lost (as of June 30th) 117 pounds. I still have 83 pounds to go. It is nice for food not to have control over you. I have a better attitude towards life now. I was kind of grouchy before I had this surgery. Anyway, Dr. Joya is a extremely good doctor. I went there alone, I was really afraid. When I met Dr. Joya, I calmed down. Natilie was excellent, she called me almost everyday even when she was put in the hospital herself. Asking me if I was okay or if I needed something. I never got the honors to meet Gerald. I wish I did. The surgery went pretty smooth, when I woke up, I had no pain at all, I was surprised. My doctor here in Kansas is extremely happy that I had this surgery, my blood pressure is down to normal. I was suppose to take four different kinds of blood pressure meds, but I was in such a deep depression that I did not care anymore. Now I feel wonderful. I am a whole different person. I have Dr. Joya to thank for that. If I could see him again, I would give him a huge hug, he gave my life back, my hope. I wish I did this along time ago. I tell everyone that I went to Mexico for this, some look at me like I was crazy, but I tell them that Dr. Joya is alot better then most of these doctors in the states, for one HE CARES!!! Most doctors here in the states don't. Thank you Dr. Joya!!! You changed my life. I am so much happier. You are a wonderful doctor!!!
62  Kathy Ferrance

 

Location: Sumner, WA
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 16:22:15
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Having the lapband placed by Dr. Joya was the best thing I could have done for myself. I'm down 117 lbs and I feel great. I'm never hungry I eat almost anything I want, just small portions. The word diet is no longer part of my vocabulary! The care I received in Mexico by Dr. Joya and his entire staff was outstanding! I can't say enough positive things about my entire experience. Just thank you Dr. Joya, you gave me my life back.
61  Carol



Location: Texas
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 16:19:31
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Hi All, I have been back from Puerto Vallarta over a week now following my gastric bypass. I am feeling better and better with each passing day - and my weight loss is already starting to add up. Dr. Joya is a great doctor and a fine man - I'm glad to have selected him as my surgeon. The hospital and staff were wonderful and the Krystal Hotel was neat too. This has been a good experience for me and I'm glad to have done it!
60  Tim




Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 16:18:25
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
dear dr joya, just wanted to let you know i am doing well, you did my bypass on 12-14- 04,i was 365+ i am now down to 272,and doing good,thanks
59  Rick



Location: Wisconsin
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 16:16:53
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Hi my name is Rick. I live in Wisconsin. I had the lapband last Monday. At first I was wondering what did I do to myself, but now the pain is gone and the weight is falling off. Dr. Joya and his staff were excellent. I did get to see PV and it is a really nice place to visit. My whole family plans on going down for a week and I can get one of my adjustments done at the same time. This surgery is going to save my life, I was heading down the wrong road but this changed my whole life. I don't feel hungry at all, I eat a serving of yogurt over the whole day. I drink water, but not as much as I should, but if I do I feel overfull. I am learning to listen to my body not my head, ( I am learning when I am really hungry or just craving something). I am looking forward to going back to work so people can see how good I am doing. I know that I have just begun but I am ready for my new life.
58  Steve




Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 16:15:00
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Well its finally here the 100 lb mark and I cant belive Ive lost this much weight with little effort on my behalf, So from 325 lbs in nov of 2003 to now 225 lbs 13 months later and with 25 lbs more to go I hope all of Dr. Joyas patients are having such success.
57  Bobbie Harner

 

Location: Pine Mountain Club, CA
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 16:11:06
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Hi Everyone, I had my surgery less than a week ago. If surgery can ever be a positive experience, this was the top. Between being met at the airport and being guided through all the hospital checking in processes by Natalie, an EKG and respiratory tests and bloodwork by Dr. Aldo, meeting Dr. Joya and Cecee (Dr. Joya's nurse) and before I knew it being wheeled into surgery. I remember the anesthesiologist talking to me and then saying sweet dreams. The next thing I knew I was waking up and my husband and Dr. Joya was there. I know I asked for more pain medication and the nurses were right there to help me. The next day, I was checked out and brought to the Krystal where we had a lovely room and slept quite well. Natalie picked us up right on time for the airport and we came home. I have had virtually no discomfort since I've been home other than a little gas that makes the band feel tight but I live at a very high altitude and Gerald said that's what the cause probably was. There is no down side to that as if the band feels tight, then I won't need as many fills. We shall see. At any rate, I would recommend this to anyone with the kind of weight problem I had. The doctor and his staff are like angels at the end of a dark tunnel. Thank you so much for being there for me and to Susan Vincent, the patient who posted just before me, thank you for sharing your experience at the airport when you were going home from your surgery. It was your encouragement that allowed for me to have this experience and perhaps a new life. Thanks you Susan.
56  Susan Vincent

 

Location: Dequincy LA
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 16:08:10
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Hi all; I can't tell you how easy it was. Natalie picked me up at the airport, took me to the Hospital. Dr. Aldo ran an EKG and some lab test, and in about two hours I was in surgery. At about 6:30PM with in the surgery room and at 8:00PM was waking up in recovery. Now thats pretty great. I went back to my room and the next day, I saw Dr. Joya and he let me go to the hotel. Natalie took me to the hotel, right near the Hospital, for the night. And she picked me up the next day to take me to the airport. I did get to take a taxi ride around Puerto Vallarta, two hours for only $40US dollars, it was so beautiful. I had it done on 12/28/04 and have already lose 15 pounds, and I'm feeling great.
55  Steven



Location: Jackson MS
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 16:05:41
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Dr. Joya saved my life! Thanks for the great service and excellent staff! Dr. Joya was very professional, caring and a great surgeon!
54  Terre C.




Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 15:58:10
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I had a gastric banding done at the end of April 2004. I have lost 47 pounds and feel great! I went from a size 22 to a size 14. I recommend Dr. Joya to everyone I speak to about my weight loss. Thanks!
53  Dana




Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 15:46:00
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I thought I would update you on how I was doing since my surgery on September 29th 2004. It has been a little over 6 weeks and I am feeling great! I am down 26lbs and 13+ inches. I look and feel so much better. My husband and I walk twice a day for 2 -4 miles each time and I have been staying on a pureeded food diet mostly, with some solids. This past week I did not loose any weight or inches and I was pretty discouraged, is that normal? Is it time for me to have a fill? I seam to be hungry more often. My experience with the surgery and dr. Joya was a very positive one. I have recomended dr. Joya to several people that are thinking about lap band surgery. I have not had any complications so far and seam to be doing fine. Thank you for recomending to me to have the lap band surgery instead of the gastric bypass, I think that would have been a major surgery that I really didn't need. Lap band surgery seams to be all I needed. Oh, hey, I wanted to tell you that I think your website is very nice and I found it very informative and helpful. I looked up some fill dr's. that are near by. Thanks again for all your help .
52  Belinda



Location: Texas
Date: 28.07.2007
Time: 15:30:14
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Just checking in to report my progress: Surgery Date: 3/19/04 Total loss in 7 months: -67 Total fill level: 5cc (2 adjustments) Next appt: This Friday, 10/29/04 Hopefully this will kickstart a plateau that I have been at. I still have NO regrets and would recommend this to anyone. I am beginning an exercise regimen and hope to lose another 67...then I will be finished :o) 1/2 way done..and looking forward to next summer !
51  Kathie Benninga

 

Location: Houston TX
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 23:05:40
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Well, this has been the best decision I have ever made! I am now 6 months post op and down 58 pounds. Clothes that were tight at the end of last summer are falling off now. I got into an XL (not 1X) for the first time in years. 6" of hip are gone, 5" waist, and I won't miss them a bit! Dr. Joya and his staff are absolutely wonderful. He is very accommodating and sincere. He squeezes your shoulder to reassure you and makes sure you understand everything. I went back down there for a minor repair (the port flipped), and was taken great care of again. I have had plateaus of no weight loss, but it all will come off eventually. I don't hesitate to talk about my experience and I cannot recommend Dr. Joya highly enough.
50  Richelle



Location: Las Vegas
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 23:03:23
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Well I am 2 months post op and I am down 38 pounds. I am down just about 3 pant sizes and 1 shirt size. I am losing it slowly. I did start working out but then I had to stop because I had to have my gallbladder removed. But now I am feeling great and heading back to the gym on Monday.
49  Tess




Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 23:01:43
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I am 3 weeks post-op, I went for a check up and My Dr. said everything was looking great. I have lost 34 pounds!!!! I have just started a light cardio workout 3 times a week and I am feeling wonderful.
48  Carol




Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 18:43:41
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Hi All, I have been back from Puerto Vallarta over a week now following my gastric bypass. I am feeling better and better with each passing day - and my weight loss is already starting to add up. Dr. Joya is a great doctor and a fine man - I'm glad to have selected him as my surgeon. The hospital and staff were wonderful and the Krystal Hotel was neat too. This has been a good experience for me and I'm glad to have done it!
47  Beverly

 

Location: Bellingham WA
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 18:42:30
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
My daughter and I had the lapband put on Aug 3,2004. We left Seattle knowing that that day we would have surgery. When we landed Nathalie was waiting and off we went to the hospital. My daughter went down to surgery at 7:00 pm that night and I followed a 8:30. We received excellent care and if I had to do it over again I would do it there. In just 2 weeks I have lost 24 lbs and my daughter has lost 27 lbs. For the first time I do not have that constant hunger. I like the fact that I still can drink a lot of water and soon I can eat regular food. I really feel good but just a little tried but my daughter is doing great.
46  Daniel



Location: Canada
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 18:39:54
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Dear Gerald, Nathalie and Dr. Joya: I am writing to thank you for the excellent job you did in both preparing and performing my surgery on August 12, 2004. I am glad I choose your services and was impressed with not only the professionalism you displayed but also attention provided prior to, during and after the surgery. Again, I am extremely happy I choose your clinic.
45  Kay



Location: MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 18:36:25
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
MY DAUGHTER JUST GOT BACK FROM PUERTO VALLARTA WHERE SHE HAD GASTRIC BYPASS SURGERY PERFORMED BY YOU. HER NAME IS STACI. I CANNOT THANK YOU ENOUGH FOR THE GREAT CARE SHE RECEIVED. SHE IS SOMEWHAT WEAK YET AND I HAVE NOT SEEN HER...ONLY TALKED TO HER ON THE PHONE. SHE WAS TREATED WITH THE BEST CARE IN THE WORLD..AND WITH SUCH CONCERN FOR HER WELFARE..SOMETHING YOU RARELY SEE THESE DAYS. I WANTED TO TELL YOU HOW I APPRECIATE THE CARE AND CONCERN YOU DISPLAYED..YOU ARE A DOCTOR IN THE TRUEST SENSE OF THE WORD. I HOPE THAT EVERYONE CAN KNOW WHAT A GREAT REPUTATION YOU HAVE. THANK YOU AGAIN FOR TAKING THE BEST CARE OF HER IN THE WORLD...SHE COULDN'T HAVE GOTTEN BETTER CARE ANYWHERE ELSE..I AM AT A LOSS FOR WORDS.. A THANKFUL MOM...
44  Betsy



Location: Ohio
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 18:32:26
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I was just banded on June 30th. I loved the first few days after surgery when I could only eat a real little bit and was satisfied! It was SOOOO wonderful to finally be full!!! I have never been full and that was one reason that I chose the band. I was never ever worried about getting the surgery until...I was waiting in the hospital for my blood work to come back and I heard a nurse pecking away on a typewriter. Yes the typewriter :) made me nervous. Here I was in a foreign county, getting put to sleep and they use TYPEWRITERS instead of computers?!?! Don't get the wrong impression though, the hospital was VERY modern and beautiful and state of the art! The hospital in our town back in Ohio was old and in worse shape then San Xavier was. So don't let the typewrite thing get to you. It was me just being weird! :) I laughed at myself for thinking stupid things and by then it was time to go into surgery. I did again, just for a second though, panic as I was falling asleep but I think that is normal for anybody who's having surgery anywhere. The entire process was so wonderful though! Natalie was a dream! Dr Joya actually patted my shoulder...he was touching me out of concern...no doctor in the states has ever just patted my shoulder as if saying "its going to be okay!" It was amazing! Same thing when he came into see me the next day, he patted me...wow!!! I was human to him. My husband was also touched by the great care and service. One of the most wonderful things we noticed and loved was that the nurses let you sleep the entire night through! Not one person came in and woke us up every 2 hours for vitals!! Every single person from staff at the hospital to staff at the resort were warm and friendly and caring and loving! I used to be a little bit of a racist I guess thinking that because of the Mexican people that I have dealt with here in the US have not been impressive, that they all were that way. I was soooo wrong! Every sin gle person that I watched down there were genuine! We as Americans I think have a lot to learn! Enjoy your surgery...it will be as successful as you make it! Enjoy the experience, it can be wonderful too! Make it the first day of your new life. Treat it that way! The only thing that I was surprised by was all the bruising that I got. The recovery was easy but I was not only bruised, I was BLACK bruised! It went away in a few weeks and only being one month out, I don't even feel as if I had major surgery done! The recovery is easy for the most part! Tomorrow I have my first fill and I'm anxious for that! My restriction is very little if any and I want that back like right after surgery. Be nervous a little..that means your human...just don't let it keep you from getting your band done! The band is the best thing I have ever done in my life!
43  Tess




Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 18:28:05
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Hey everybody...It has been three months today that I have had my bypass surgery, I have lost 68 lbs. and I feel wonderful. In case anyone reading this post is thinking about having this surgery, my advise is "DO IT". You will thank yourself later. Thank you Dr. Joya
42  Greg



Location: Seattle
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 18:22:44
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
It has been two weeks since my surgery and I am doing very well. I just wanted to drop you a line and thank you for all your e-mails and answers to my questions. You were most helpful and I am grateful. I appreciate the great care I got down in Puerto Vallarta. Thank you for giving me great care and attention. Once again, thanks and God Bless.
41  Stacey M



Location: Memphis TN
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 18:20:39
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I just got back from surgery and things are going good. Clear liquids are for the birds. An ounce of Jello and I am stuffed for about an hour, then I nibble again. I am doing well with water, sipping constantly. Once the soreness goes away, it will be good. I had to work all day today and I did OK. I was very pleased with everything in Vallarta. Natalie was great!! The nurses were awesome and Dr. Joya was great! I wasn't nervous or did not have a lot of pain post op, just nausea and the nurses took care of that for me. I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciated you, Natalie, and the rest of the staff. I would, and will, recommend your services every time I get the chance. Thanks
40  Kerri



Location: Seattle
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 18:16:14
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Dr. Joya is wonderful. I had to go to Mexico by myself, so I was very scared. I did fine, though. Nathalie picked me up at the airport and took me to the hospital, then when I was released the next day, she picked me up and took me to Wal-mart and the hotel. She drives you everywhere you need to be. Dr. Joya was great. He held my hand in the O.R. before I was put under, and he told me not to worry, I would be fine. (No American dr. ever did that for me). The hospital was clean, the service was great, and if you have any questions, you can always e-mail Gerald and he will talk to Dr. Joya and get you an answer right away.
39  Luis



Location: San Francisco
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 18:13:10
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I want to take this opportunity to thank you. Gerald, As the 'gatekeeper' you were very instrumental in making this happen. You gained my trust with your honesty and openness in handling my questions. As of today (1 week from seeing Dr. Joya), I have lost 22-pounds!! Thanks.
38  Linda




Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 18:12:02
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I just wanted you to know that I got back from my Surgery with Dr. 
Joya. Everything was just as great as you said. Thank you so much for all your support and help while setting everything up. I hope you are doing well!
Thanks again for everything!
37  Mitzie




Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 17:52:51
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
My name is Mitzie. I had surgery with yall May 8,2003. I have lost 121lbs and feel great. I work out 5 days a week. Tell Dr Joya I will love the man till the day I die for what he has helped me do. Also I never told you how thankful i was for all the help and things you did for me.
36  Michelle

 

Location: Port Orange, Fl
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 17:48:05
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Well it has been a week and a day since my surgery. Let me tell you I was scared to death! My family and I decided to go down about 4 days earlier so we could enjoy Puerto Vallarta which was a great idea because it is beautiful! When we arrived Nathalie was waiting for us and let me tell you she is WONDERFUL! She was so helpful and went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. Well after 3 days in the sun it was time. I was very nervous day of surgery but I knew I had came to far to turn back. As most I was thinking are you crazy in having surgery in MEXICO! But let me tell you San Javier Hospital is the cleanest hospital I have ever seen! The rooms are large and quite nice. The staff was great and yes there was a little language barrier but we were able to make due and their staff of nurse were the best! Thanks Olga! Well when it came surgery time I was very impressed with Dr Joya, he is a very nice man and even held my hand while the staff was preparing me for surgery. I was very scared! Then I woke up! I was a little out of it and had a little pain at my port site. I slept most that day and night and then it was the next day. I took a shower and off I went. Thursday was kind of rough I was still tired and it was hard to get comfortable, I slept most of the day. Then Friday I was feeling a little better. Later that afternoon I walked on the beach and sat and watch my family play in the water. The pain was starting to subside. Saturday we flew home to Florida, I so dreaded this but I did well, not much pain at all and I did a lot of standing and walking! I am writing this one week later and I can say that I am pretty much pain free unless I try to overdue it or forget I had surgery. This was something I am so glad I did! I was considering it in the states but it is so expensive and in addition to great medical care my family got a wonderful vacation. **Note we stayed at the Qualton which is a very nice ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel. My 6 year old daughter loved it. So it you are thinking this is not a family trip you just might want to consider it.** Once again Thank you so much Nathalie and Dr Joya! Also Gerald I am so sorry I did not get to meet you (hope you had a great vacation)but thank you so much for helping in the planning of my trip, surgery and the prompt answers to all of our numerous questions! The staff at this place is great!!!
35  Joan




Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 17:43:59
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I had my surgery one week ago today and wanted to post some updates and thank yous. My entire experience was wonderful. From the minute my husband and I got off the plane, Nathalie was there and couldn't do enough for us. We had 4 days to play before the surgery and fell in love with PV. Dr. Joya was sensitive and caring. When I entered the operating room I was uptight and scared. He was so calming and reassuring and he helped to alleviate my fears. He is extremely competent and knowledgeable. When I returned to my room the nurses were also caring and attentive. I called for assistance once and they were in the room within minutes (I know you don't get that response in the States). Even though there was a language barrier, when I needed something, we were able to communicate it. I have not taken any pain medication since the day after surgery and have had only minor discomfort with gas pains. I have been fatigued since my surgery but realize my body has gone through a lot and I am going to be very good to myself. Gerald, thank you so much for your prompt response to my numerous e- mails before my surgery. I told Nathalie that when you quit this job I would love to apply for it. You are compassionate and know exactly what this journey is all about. I also appreciate your honesty and efficiency. The internet support groups have been fantastic. I have learned so much from these bandsters and am especially grateful to two special bandster angels, Faye and Lane. I met Belinda and Paula and hope you are both doing well. Gerald, please tell Nathalie she is the best and thank you again. That woman is amazing!!
34  Tara




Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 17:39:14
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Well, I would do it all over again. It wasn't final that I was really going to P. Vallarta for surgery until 4 days before I was to leave on March 15th, so I had little time to prepare mentally which was probably good. I went by myself, but it wasn't a big deal as there was always someone to assist me if I needed it. God bless Nathalie. It all seemed to happen so fast. Literally from the airport to the operating table. No hurry up and wait like in the States. I was impressed by the cleanliness of the hospital and the nice private rooms. My bed was more comfortable than any hospital I've been in here in Texas. My biggest problem was the language barrier as the nurses spoke little or no English, but gestures remedied that in no time. The surgery went fine and when I woke up in my room it was dark outside (I arrived in PV about 1 PM). I was thirsty so I asked for some ice chips and they brought me a pitcher- full. It tasted good but that's all I wanted. I rested well that night. The next morning I took a shower and felt better. They brought me juice and water for breakfast. The juice tasted good (very sweet tho) but it hurt to drink it so I stuck with bottled water which I brought with me from Texas (glad I did). After a visit by Dr. Joya and a woman doctor whose name I never understood but who I remembered from the operating room, I was discharged and Nathalie drove me and the other woman from Fort Worth who had surgery right after me to Walmart for juice, bouillon, etc, then taken to the hotel Krystal which was lovely. The other lady, Carmella, was feeling better than I was so she and her grown daughter who came with her did some shopping. After checking in however, I went to my room and rested. Walked to the beach later on just so I could say I saw the beach. I scuba dive so it was really hard to be someplace so beautiful and not take advantage of it. I was doing fine by the next morning when Nathalie took me to the airport. Here's my advice: Ask the ticket agent in Vallarta to have a wheelchair at your destination. At DFW airport and I'm sure at others, it is a country mile to customs. I normally get around easily, but there is no way I could have walked that far to customs. Besides, they usually wheel you right through ahead of everyone else. For those who must self- pay for weight loss surgery, this is the absolute way to do it! I hope this helps someone like me who read these posts for days and knew pretty much what to expect before having my surgery. Tara 251 last week 233 today
33  Belinda




Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 17:30:25
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I just wanted to take a moment and let everyone know that I had my lap band placed on Friday, March 19th and flew back home on Sunday, then went back to work on Tuesday, March 23rd (yesterday). I met Joan there, who had the surgery 1 day prior to mine, as well as Paula, who had surgery the same day that I did. Both were glad they did it too. I joined the group today and I am very excited about the possibilities of how much weight I will lose. Dr. Joya and the hospital staff, as well as Nathalie was so wonderful. I could not ask for better treatment. Puerto Vallarta was beautiful and my friend and I had the best time there. I am on my 6th day of clear liquids. It's not easy but I wouldn't have it any other way. I've had no nausea, no side effects from the antibiotic or pain medication and so far, no tossing either. I HAVE had hunger pains but they go away with more liquids. My incisions are healing great and I only have minimal pain at the site of the largest incision and near the port. I did not get to meet Gerald, which I was disappointed :o) (Maybe some other time). I am making myself NOT weigh until the 2 week mark and I already feel like I have lost several pounds. I will update everyone at that time. Thanks to Dr Joya and Nathalie and Gerald!!!
32  Carmela



Location: Dallas Texas
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 17:27:46
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
It's one week since i had my surgery and i wanted to drop you and Dr. Joya a line to let you know that i am doing good. My abdomen is still a little swollen and tender with bruising but i have had little pain. I have started walking even the day after surgery at the hotel my daughter and i went down to the beach and walked. I know it has only been one week but already i have lost three pounds. The diet has not been that difficult to follow, after the post op. nausea i have not felt any more i have been able to get in all my fluids these past few days and plan to continue. Also to let you know natalia was just wonderful to talk to and treated my daughter and i like family, all the nurses at the hospital were so nice and tried very hard to make my stay comfortable, they were very considerate of my daughter and provided her a meal and made sure she was comfortable which might not seem like much but to me it was wonderful to know she was taken care of and it did not have to worry about her.Sorry i did not get to meet you on this trip gerald, but all the staff was wonderful and i just can't say enough.
31  Linda

 

Location: California
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 17:26:45
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I had my banding done March 11 2004. I am feeling well and went back to work 4 days post-op. The 1st night was rough in the hospital because I was vomiting or just dry heaving all night. Just about any narcotic will do that to me so it was just the way I reacted to the anesthesia and or post-op pain meds. I never had any pain from the surgical site I was pretty amazed on how well I did feel 1st day post-op. I went to Puerto Vallarta alone and managed fine but in hind sight I would recommend some to be there with you for support. The hospital was clean and new, the nurses were very well trained and kind. Thank you Natalie for checking on me and helping me get on the plane for home. I found it was a good experience and gave me some insight on what pts. experience in the operating room. This was my 1st general anesthesia and major surgery. It was nice that I met Marilyn and Larry at the hotel. I think we both thought what have we done! We had a few laughs and discussed some of our fears and I think we both felt better after talking for a while. Thank you Dr. Joya and staff. I am glad I had the procedure done and will work on losing a hundred pounds. Many Thanks and Blessings
30  Marylnn



Location: Dallas TX
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 17:21:47
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
went to Puerto Vallarta last Thursday, March 11 and had the surgery that afternoon. I thought everything went pretty well. Natalie picked my husband and me up at the airport and we went straight to the hospital. The hospital was pretty nice, not as nice as the ones around DFW. As long as someone from Dr. Joya's office was around, the language barrier was not a problem. Things are just done a little different in Mexico and I was pretty nervous. Dr. Joya was very nice and did a great job on my surgery. I feel very good, had no nausea and am back home doing great. Hope the weight loss goes this well.
29  Julie



Location: Seattle WA
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 17:16:33
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I am feeling very well and I am very satisfied with how my band is working. I am not craving food as much as I used to and I am extremely grateful for that. I have to admit that I am not starving myself in the least and I have been naughty about chocolate a few times. Still I am eating much less than I have in many years and making better food choices too. It is much easier now because of the diminished food cravings.
28  Susan



Location: Seattle
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 16:52:46
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I am all set, back home and lost 10 lbs already and I feel awesome! it was a breeze thanks for all your help!
27  Sandy




Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 16:48:44
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I had my surgery in May with Dr Joya. I'm down 55 pound and I feel great.
26  Lane



Location: Memphis
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 16:46:56
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I had a really easy time. The worst moment was a really bad stick from one of the girls (my whole wrist is still black and blue), but the heavenly CeCe came and saved me with her beautiful and painless stick. Now you know that if my biggest complaint is a vein stick, then I must be a happy camper and I am. I'm down 8 lbs which is terrific since I am only 75lbs over. I am starting with blended soft foods today, I had a soft scrambled egg for lunch and it went down fine and I was full. I am still pushing water and feeling back to my old self. I felt a little weak when I first got home but that has passed and by increasing my protein intake I am doing great. I had trouble one morning with gagging, but now I know that morning is not a good time to eat for me and I have not had any other problems. I felt really stupid that when I got back I realized that I didn't know where the port was, just never thought to ask. Now I know and that is the only place still sore. I am short and short waisted so I "feel" it when I sit without good posture. Don't know why but I thought it was going to be near the belly button. It will just remind me to keep my back straight. I cannot believe how tiny my incisions(sp?) are, really impressive and will be totally unnoticeable soon. My expectations were met and exceeded, I thought my care was terrific and I will happily make referrals when I get the chance. The anesthesia was the easiest I have ever experienced and absolutely no nausea or dizziness following it. I look forward to more loss and more importantly I am happy to have a tool for the future that will help me maintain the loss. I know that it will help me tremendously with my back and neck pain and all quality of life issues. Thanks to everyone for taking such good care of me and please tell CeCe and Fernando that I said hello. Thanks Gerald for your help, the Krystal was just fine also.
25  Daniel



Location: Las Vegas Nevada
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 16:44:46
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
My surgery went great, I finally got home and was a bit sore for about 4 days. The pain medication helped, and now I am back at work. Dr. Joya was very friendly and spoke English. I was picked up at the airport and Fernando was on vacation. Everyone was so helpful! I appreciate all they have done for me, and I have already lost 12 pounds.
24  Carol



Location: Canada
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 16:43:40
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Dr. Joya was the best! Everything went smooth and the operation was fine. The hospital was very nice. And I would recommend Dr. Joya again and again.
23  Kris



Location: Seattle
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 16:36:33
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I got home at 2:30 a.m., rather pooped. I have slept an awful lot, but managed to get in my water, clear soups, juice and some walking. I am slightly sore, but nothing to whimper about. I am really glad that Greta and I got to meet you and visit with you. Thanks for joining us and making our wait for the plane much more pleasant. Everyone was very professional, warm and friendly. I really thought the hospital was top drawer and I appreciated all the extra attention that I got. Dr. Joya even made a brief good-bye cell phone call to me as we left for the airport, and wished me good luck! I felt completely spoiled, and that was nice. :o) I look forward to getting out tomorrow for a trip to the post office and grocery store, plus a nice walk at a park nearby. Thanks so much for everything. My regards to you, Dr. Joya, Dr. Rios, and Fernando. You were all fabulous!
22  Camille

 

Location: Dallas Texas
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 16:19:50
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
EASY EASY EASY and such a vacation too!!! From Fernando picking me up at the airport to the sweet nurses at the hospital. I had very minimal pain (took no pain pills) and was ready to shop and enjoy the Puerto Vallarte sunshine the day after! The hospital was professional and clean and most everyone spoke English. The hotel was such a nice "vacation" spot - I wish I would have brought the rest of my family! I would recommend PV, Mexico and Dr. Joya to anyone! Since I had my surgery during their promotion time I have FREE fills so I will be back...this time wearing shorts and a swimsuit!!! Thanks to Gerald for all his incredible help - for Fernando's assistance and Dr. Joya's staff and nurses!
21  Ken




Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:40:43
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Sue O. and I were there Nov 8 thur Nov 12. Excellent care for her was provided. I thank each and everyone, doctors and Nurses that cared for her . She loves you all. You have the cleanest Hospital I have every BEEN IN. God Bless,
20  Shirley



Location: Nashville TN
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:39:27
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Well, I lived to tell about it. Things couldn't have gone better. I LOVED Dr. Joya, Fernando was so sweet, the hospital and hotel were wonderful, and the nurses took such good care of me. I'd do it again in a heartbeat. I've really done well--no big problems. Still hanging in with the liquids. Also found a good post-op doc in Covington, Louisiana, only about 2 hours away from me. He takes Mexican patients and places the same brand of band Dr. Joya used. I feel like he'll be real good. I was relieved to find someone so close. I can't thank you enough for all of your help and reassurance and patience. I was very frightened going in but yet KNEW deep down inside of me that it would be all right and that this was the right thing to do. Thank you Gerald. You've helped me change my life. That's an amazing thing. Keep up your good work. There's tons of people out there who need you. I'll keep you posted on my progress. And just know that I'm eternally grateful to you.
19  William



Location: New York
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:38:05
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Dr. Joya was terrific, he was caring and helped me get past my nerves, Gerald helped get my questions answered by Dr. Joya and Fernando was so terrific, he handled all our transportation needs and even took me and my wife on a city tour! I could not thank everyone enough. I am already down 35 pounds in 3 weeks... it is great!
18  Andy & Diane Rynearson



Location: Tacoma WA
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:36:39
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
It's been a little over two months now since my husband has had surgery and he is down 50 pounds! His heaviest weight was 425 give or take as the scales usually aren't accurate after 330. If you have doubts about doing the band surgery in Mexico, don't! We were treated absolutely fabulous and the hospital and staff are above and beyond our expectations. It would be ridiculous to waste your money on greedy American doctors when Dr. Joya is available. We can attest to it! Andy has so much energy now, just for loosing 50 pounds. He hasn't even had his first fill yet! He hasn't had to take any insulin for his diabetes since the surgery and his blood sugars have stayed in the 100 levels where before they were at 300! He still has a long way to go but, he's going to get there! Thank you Dr. Joya and Fernando for the beginning of our new life!
17  Madeline

 

Location: Brentwood TN
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:35:33
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
It is almost three months since my surgery and I am down 25 lbs. and 2 clothes sizes. Someone comments about how thin I am getting almost everyday! My surgery was pretty uneventful as far as I know. Gerald, Dr. Joya and "the darling" Fernando (no girls you can't take him home, I already tried for some lucky younger (not myself) American girl, but he just blushed - they are all as nice as can be! They are the perfect hostess for their city! The hospital and hotel are very clean and safe. You will have no problems if you have to go alone. "The boys" will take you everywhere that you need to go. This surgery is a very serious decision! I have found that you have to truly want to change your lifestyle, diet exercise, etc. if it is going to be successful! It is not easy sitting down to eat after a couple of months and watching people eat steak, bread, etc. and not want to have those foods also, but you learn what you can and can't eat, and sometimes it changes daily! But...IS it worth it? YES, would I do it again? In a New York minute, (it took me almost a week after the surgery before I could say that!) I recommend that you take some apple juice or cranberry juice from the states, theirs taste quite a bit different than ours, either way, DILUTE IT (about 1/3 juice, the rest bottled water.) It does take a GOOD week before you are feeling up to par. Especially if you are over 40! So give yourself some time to bounce back! Something else that I HIGHLY recommend, MAKE SURE THAT YOU HAVE A DOCTOR lined up here in the states to do your fills BEFORE you go and have the surgery. Tell them EXACTLY what kind of band that Dr. Joya will be using. Also, learn some of the words and phrases on the paperwork that Gerald gives to you. It will definitely help! Other than that, I haven't felt this well in years and I have a lot more energy than I ever thought that I would again before my surgery! God Bless any of you that make the decision to have the surgery. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!
16  LISA




Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:33:19
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Thank you and your hospital staff for taking such good care.
15  Jan Beckner

 

Location: Port Angeles, WA
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:31:30
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Had my surgery done 2 weeks ago and I am down exactly 15 pounds. Thank you Dr. Joya and all staff! Fernando...you are the best!!! Thank you and your cousin for the shopping trip). Anyone considering this surgery I strongly recommend Dr. Joya. The hospital is very clean and the staff is very efficient and attentive. The only problem that I have had is severe pain where my port (the largest incision) is. I was not taking any pain medication at all (my mistake). I have now finished my meds, started sleeping with a heating pad and started acupuncture...all seems to be helping. I would advise...not to return to work to soon. Take at least 2 weeks off (I am a receptionist)just to be sure you are over the initial shock of the surgery. Looking forward to returning to PV for my 1st fill.
14  Linda



Location: Milwaukee
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:29:25
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
The doctor was great and provided super care. After being picked up at the airport and taken around the city, I could not have asked for more. Thank you for a great surgery.
13  Joanne



Location: Dallas Texas
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:28:02
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I just wanted to let you know that I'm doing fine and back at work today. Everything went very well and we had a great time while in PV - just wish we could have stayed longer. AND I've lost 10 lbs.! I did have one thing to share that might be helpful to you. Fernando is the BEST! After leaving the hospital and taking us to the hotel - we found that our hotel room was not ready and were told that it would be 1-1/2 hrs. My husband told the person at the Front Desk that I had had surgery (and was quite nauseous at the time) - they were very nice and got us into a very nice room in about 20 minutes. Thanks so much for all your help. We had so much fun that we may return when I'm ready for a fill
12  Sandra



Location: Seattle
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:26:59
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
My surgery went well and I have already lost 20 pounds. The doctor did a great job.
11  DAWN



Location: Garland Texas
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:25:15
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I just got back from my trip to Puerto Vallarta and let me tell you about my trip. I was very worried about having to go to Mexico and then have to fly to Puerto Vallarta for my surgery. I worried all the way down there, and then worried some more when I picked up my suitcase. I went outside of the terminal and there was a guy holding a Dr. Joya sign. It turned out to be Fernando. He picked up my suitcase and took me to the car which was right outside. We then went to the hospital. Wow, let me tell you this was really a shock to me because I was not expecting this nice of a hospital in Mexico. The hospital was very clean and the nurses were friendly. Fernando helped me get my paperwork done and I was shown into the admitting room. The two nurses in the room, Gaby and Cecilia were very nice. Cecilia spoke some English but Gaby drew my blood. It was explained to me that the tests would be done prior to surgery and Dr. Joya would meet with me to go over my results. Dr. Rios came in and examined my lungs and they did an EKG. Dr. Rios spoke great English and was very cute. I then met with Dr. Joya, who is young and good looking. He went over my results and told me it was time for surgery. I told him to be very careful, and he promised he would. I woke up a few hours later very dizzy and feeling fine other than the dizziness. My stomach was a bit sore, but not to bad. I had a private room and the nurse kept coming in to check on me. Then Dr. Joya came by and explained to me that everything went fine. I was just so happy. I felt really fine until the nurse brought me water and juice. The Mexican juice is very sweet and I think I drank the water too fast as I threw up a little. I walked around the hospital later that night and slept like a baby. The next morning Dr. Joya stopped by with Dr. Rios and checked up on me. The nurse told me to take a shower and later that day Fernando came for me to take me to the hotel. The hotel was clean and nice because it had air conditioning and soft beds. They also had a dinner show which made the evening enjoyable. The next day Fernando picked me up at the hotel and took me shopping before my flight. He then took me to the airport. My flight home was long as I was tired and was glad to arrive. I truly am happy with my band, and would highly recommend him to anyone who is looking to have this surgery done.
10  Brenda



Location: Seattle
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:22:16
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
My surgery! I arrived in Puerta Vallarta on Thursday. My mom and the Dr.'s nephew, Fernando were all waiting for me when I got off the plane. We drove to the hospital where they did some tests. The hospital was very nice. The nicest hospital I have ever been in to be honest. They did the tests. I met the doctor. Wow it must be something in the water in Mexico because my doctor was very attractive! Fernando took us to our hotel. The hotel was beautiful, we were right on the beach. The room is all inclusive so we enjoyed a wonderful dinner with other guests at poolside. There was a show outside that night but we were both so tired we went to our rooms early and crashed at about 8:30pm. I woke up in the middle of the night scared poopless. I called my husband and told him I didn't want to do it. I just couldn't. He told me everything will be alright and I should be excited not scared. So I tried to go back to sleep and was thinking of all the things that would go wrong etc. I got up at 6:30 and the doctors nurse who assists in the operation picked us up and took us to the hospital. They did the normal stuff, took blood, put in the iv. I was so scared and when they asked me for my wedding ring I started to cry. I missed my husband and thoughts of never seeing him or my son again were racing through my head. They gave me a nice shot in my IV and I felt better. I was then wheeled out to the operating room. The doctor came and took my hand and told me not to be afraid. He then had me change beds and I met the anethesiologist (sp??) and told him to make sure I didn't die. I barely had my butt on the other table and the next thing I know I am waking up and the nurse is asking me if I am in pain. I wasn't. They kept me there in recovery for a while. Once I got to my room my mom got on the phone and called my husband and everyone else. I talked to my husband and started to cry. The anethesia made me emotional. I then put on a night gown I had brought with me with help from my mom and then I went for a walk around the hospital. I was not in pain. I slept on my side that night and I slept really good. The doctor came and checked on me Saturday morning and then released me. Then he had Fernando come and picked us up. We spent a couple of hours downtown PV shopping. I got my prescriptions filled too. It was wonderful. The entire time I was drinking water. By Saturday night I was starving. I guess I was not one of the lucky ones who feels restriction from the swelling. I am a fast healer and have a high tolerance for pain so all the liquids are just running through my new band. We went out to dinner and one of the servers had the cook make me some Chinese soup that was mostly beef broth and the hard rubbery noodles. I just drank the broth. Sunday I woke up and started with the water. I was now starving and having hunger pains. I went and got a liquid yogurt. They have them everywhere in Mexico. It tasted great. We then went to the airport. Fernando was awesome. My mom's plane left before mine so he took me to Walmart and to an internet cafe to kill time. The doctor called me several times to check on me both at the hotel and while I was with Fernando. The plane ride was nothing special but they never are. I was embarrassed when I had them get me a wheel chair to get to my connecting flight but it was on the other side of LAX and I just wasn't up for the walk and we had to hurry to make the connecting flight. SO the woman at Alaska Airlines called for my wheel chair and then said she would get my suitcase to the carasail. (I had to retrieve my suitcase and have it clear customs cuz we came from Mexico). Then I flew home. My wonderful husband was there waiting for me. We waited and waited for my suitcase. It never came. That nice woman who said she would take care of it for me must have gotten confused and decided to throw it away or something. They are looking for my suitcase so they say. I went to bed shortly after arriving home. Today I had the hubby go to the store to get me stuff to eat. I was hungry. Drank water, then had some Jell-O and still was hungry. Finally tonight I blended some chicken and stars until it was liquid and ate it and couldn't finish the can. I was finally full. I have been checking on my suitcase and nothing has shown up so I had to go to a quick care and see a doctor so he could prescribe me some antibiotics since they don't recognize a prescription from Mexico. I had only taken the pills I would need to take during my flight in my purse and the rest went in my suitcase. SO after another $200 I now have my antibiotics and receipts so I can send them and a nice polite letter to Alaska Airlines for reimbursement. Dr. Joya, Gerald, Fernando and Cecelia were all wonderful. I am so glad I decided to have my surgery with Dr. Joya. He is very comforting and compassionate. I would recommend him to anyone. My mom was so impressed with everything and all my new friends that she now wants to get the surgery.
9  Leota




Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:17:12
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
As you probably know, I made the trip to Mexico and had my surgery last Tuesday, April 1. That will be an easy date to remember. After one week, I'm feeling much better. Most of the swelling has dissipated and I'm having more energy. The 3-day trip and surgery was a bit more difficult that I expected. Puerto Vallarta is beautiful and I plan to go back! Lazing away the day at the beach and dancing away the night sounds like the best of times to me. Thank you for your assistance.
8  Regina



Location: Dallas
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:14:58
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
THANKS SO MUCH FOR ALL OF YOUR HELP...ALSO I REALLY ENJOYED DR. JOYA AND HIS STAFF THEY WERE ALL SO HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY THE EXPERIENCE WAS GREAT!!!
7  Diane



Location: Seattle
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:12:31
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Thanks to you and Dr. Joya and his staff the trip went smoothly and I felt very secure and un worried. Puerto Vallarta is a wonderful place and we sure enjoyed the wonderful sun and the kindness of the people. I'm back to work now and feeling pretty good, my entry wounds seem to be healing fine with no infection and the bruising is almost gone. I am a little bit light headed but I think that is the liquid diet. I do not feel any restriction and do not know if Dr. Joya put any fill in the band. You really helped me complete this adventure and went out of your way to help me with bringing my life, along. The stay at the Krystal was wonderful and magical and I even got to see a little bit of the Doctors' convention. Wow!
6  Kasey



Location: Tulsa
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:09:08
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
The trip was good. My friend took good care of me and the doctor was very competent. I was pretty scared before surgery and really sore Tues, but by Wed I started feeling better about the whole ordeal. I just started on pureed food this morning and have lost 8 lbs so far. I am now in the process of figuring out what to do instead of eating when I am bored or lonely. Thanks!
5  Phillip



Location: Texas
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:06:06
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Got home today. Thank you so much. Dr. Joya was very nice and the staff was great. Again thank you so very much. 15 pounds, and healing well. I will be a poster boy for your doctor.
4  Karen



Location: Alaska
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 04:02:26
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I guess my journey actually started on 30NOV02. That is the day that I requested information concerning lap band surgery. I got a very timely response from Gerald and answers to my questions. I flew to PV arriving around 3 pm on the 6th. I was met at the airport and was helped getting admitted to the hospital. My pre op testing was done, IV started and I met with Dr. Joya. Next thing I knew my surgery Lapband surgery was over and I was waking up in my room. Pain is not even an issue. I had an IV through the night and had continuous pain medication. I don't know what it was, but it was great. It kept me comfortable so I was able to sleep soundly, but also wake up easily to be able to go to the bathroom and take short walks. All with out pain. I was so comfortable I actually had to look at my abdomen in the mirror to see if anything had been done. I had 5 small incision. 2 that are barely 1/4 of an inch long and the other are 1/2 or 3/4 of an inch long and I had some bruising at where my port was place. The hospital, San Javier, is small and clean. It is modern, and nothing impacted the quality of my care. Instead of an electric digital read out thermometer being used, they are using the mercury thermometers. The staff was very efficient. The next morning I was ready to be discharge. I went "home" to the Krystal with just a Tylenol/Motrin type medication for pain control and antibiotics. Dr. Joya drove me to the hotel and assisted with getting me checked. I did nap for a few hours. After that I went to the pool area to enjoy being by the beach. The next morning I woke up feeling excellent. So good that I changed my ticket to fly home that afternoon. I also went out for a walk and did a little shopping. Dr. Joya did come by the motel to do a check up, but I was already out and about. I was taken to be checked out by Dr. Joya and then I was off to the airport. It was truly that simple. The "worst" if you can call it that of the whole experience is that I had nausea for about 12 hours post op. It went away on its own and is to be expected with this type of surgery. For FEMALES since you will be taking antibiotics I would have a supply of monostat on hand as anytime a female takes antibiotic you are like to get a yeast infection. Just be prepared. I returned to work one week post op. I am 3 week out from surgery now. My weight post op at Dr. Joya's office was 250 and when I weighed myself a few days ago I was 241.
3  Matt Dorrington



Location: Los Angeles
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 03:54:38
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
I had my surgery on Sept 26 with Dr. Joya in Puerta Vallarta. Everything went perfect! I chose the Lap-band, The Trip: Flew down on Aero Mexico (LA to PTO Vallarta), they had a special to upgrade to First Class for $75, so I had a nice comfortable flight. :) The tests and the Surgery were done at San Javier Hospital. Everything was modern and brand new. Dr. Joya speaks fluent English and answered every question I had. (Surgery) I stayed in the hospital for 1 day, and then moved to my hotel. I had the Fluroscope 2 days after the operation, and then went for a walk on the beach. :) No narcotics, just Supradol(NSAID), Vontrol(Nausea), and Cipro(anitbiotic). I had a little gas pain the day after the operation, and nausea for 2 days (Thanks to the General Anasthetic) Flew back Monday the 30th, there was a little turbulence on landing, and that was very uncomfortable, but only for a few minutes...Now I am getting ready to go to work for half a day. I am honestly REALLY looking forward to go get the fill in PTO. Vallarta and spend the weekend there! Oh yea, I am 10 lbs lighter also
2  Dick Johnson



Location: Seattle
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 03:49:22
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Had the Lap Band procedure done in Tijuana by Dr Joya on Dec 19th. Had a good informal meeting with Dr Joya prior to the procedure, and All Information was provided to my satisfaction by Dr Joya and his staff. Was treated well by all the medical staff in Tijuana hospital and would recommend this procedure and Dr Joya to all that could benefit from Band Surgery. Have lost about 25 lbs since the procedure and so far I am quite satisfied with the results. As a former Police Chief with lots of road and car miles around my mid section, I would recommend Dr Joya and Gerald to All. Thanks again, Dr Joya.
1  Gerald Witt



Location: Los Angeles
Date: 27.07.2007
Time: 03:18:00
Rating:
IP: 71.153.24.151
Dr. Joya was extremely professional, I was very worried about traveling to Mexico for my surgery. I was 500lbs., and was ready to do whatever it took. I had a complication because of my size and they actually had to open me up. Dr. Armando Joya made the smallest possible incision and the surgery lasted 6 1/2 hours (rare for a band surgery). Today, so far, in 5 months time, I have lost 120 pounds and thanks to the staff at the Hospital San Javier and Dr. Joya I am alive today. There really is no better way to do this surgery than in the sunny beach resort of Puerto Vallarta, and Dr. Joya has basically given me a new life!

The End
State of the Art technology and procedures done in State of the Art facilities!  Our Doctors only use the finest  hospitals in Puerto Vallarta, ones that are state of the art, with clean, sterile, and the very best equipment available.  The operating rooms are designed specifically for bariatric surgery and the doctors make sure that they have met all of their requirements.

When you are in Puerto Vallarta and your doctor is providing you service during your medical tourism vacation, if there is an emergency you may contact the doctor, 24 hours a day via telephone or email.  Someone will be available to assist you!

You may also contact us at info@drjoya.com

or

Call us @: 866.509.0571
           or 817.405.2778
   
   
   
 
 
• Bariatric Surgery
• Gastric Bypass
• Gastric Sleeve
• Lapband
• Bariatric Revisions
• Hernia Surgery
• Duodenal Switch
• Dental Work available
• Plastic Surgery available
• Beach Resort Vacation
• Medical Staff visits the hotel
• Fly directly into PVR
• No 3 hour border crossing
• Airport Pickup
• All Tests included
• R/T Airfare available

• US Passport Book Required!
 
Please feel free to contact us with any questions, concerns, that you may have regarding our services. If you would like to contact us via e-mail, please forward your information to info@drjoya.com and one of our friendly staff members will contact you directly or via email within 24 hours.  We can provide you with a risk free price quote based on the information you provide.  You may also call us toll free at 866.509.0571 or 817.405.2778
At DRJOYA.com we are all well trained, and bilingual, speaking both English and Spanish.  We have been working in the Medical Tourism industry for more than 15 years.  By selecting to have your surgery with us, you not only get the best doctors in Puerto Vallarta to assist you during your surgery, you also get top notch care before surgery, where you questions are answered usually in less than 24hours, to post op where we are here for you as well.  If you don't have insurance and are looking to go overseas for weight loss surgery, then let us bring you to beautiful Puerto Vallarta.  Our staff will get you the answers to your questions and assist you with getting all of your travel preparation needs in order.  Our staff will also assist you with any other specific needs you may have.  

All of the Doctors and staff that work with our doctors speak English and are University trained.  The Hospitals are also accredited and are located  in the heart of Puerto Vallarta and accessible from every hotel.  The hotel and hospitals are about 10 minutes from the airport. 
We are completely committed to delivering quality medical care to prospective patients.  With our doctors you not only get the best doctors in Mexico for your surgery, but you also get doctors who specialize in the Gastric Bypass, Gastric Sleeve surgery, Gastric Bypass Revision surgeries, Duodenal Switch Surgeries and doctors who have helped patients worldwide lose millions of pounds a year, and all of these treatments can be done at savings over what they cost in the US. The  hospitals in Puerto Vallarta have been approved by and work with most major American Insurance companies.

Home  •  Financing  •  Legal •  Contact Us •  FAQ Site Map

Copyright 2015 DRJOYA.com Inc., Puerto Vallarta Jalisco Mexico.   By clicking on any of the links on this website, I hereby agree to all of the Terms and Conditions set forth in the LEGAL section of this website.  Information contained in this website is provided for educational purposes only. It is imperative that you consult your own physician regarding the application of any opinions or information presented in this website or received in any e-mails from DRJOYA.COM. It is not intended to replace the advice of a medical professional or in any way to be prescriptive. The author and website administrator has used sources believed to be reliable in efforts to provide information that is complete and generally in accord with the standards accepted at the time of publication. Medical knowledge changes rapidly. In lieu of the possibility of human error and changes in medical science, neither the author or website administrator, nor any party who is involved in the preparation or publication of these works or e-mails warrants that the information contained is in every respect accurate or complete, and they are not responsible for any errors or omissions or for the results obtained from the use of such information. Readers and website users are strongly encouraged to discuss and confirm the information contained in the website and e-mails with their own physician. People who use this website do so with the understanding that the author, publisher, website administrator, DRJOYA.COM, DRJOYA.com Inc., Gerald Witt, and any and all other contributors, shall have neither liability nor responsibility to any person or entity with respect to any loss or damage caused or alleged to be caused directly or indirectly by the information contained in this website or the e-mails sent from DRJOYA.COM. This is a site dedicated to medical tourism and weight loss surgery in Mexico, it is owned and operated by DRJOYA.COM Inc. a Nevada Corporation dedicated to medical tourism and is not related in any way to Dr. Armando Magdaleno Joya Munguia.